Our Team

We are focused on people. That starts with our Staff and Board of Directors.

World Forestry Center Staff

Diversity, Equity, Access, & Inclusion

World Forestry Center commits to practices and programs that elevate diverse voices, promote inclusiveness, and improve equity, both within our organization and in our community. This is central to our mission and essential to our daily work.

Board of Directors

Jeff Nuss, Chair
Managing Partner
Handprint Impact Partners
Tiffanie Starr, Vice-Chair
Managing Director, Acquisitions
Timberland Investment Resources
Zan Galton, Treasurer
The Western Group
Victor Haley, Secretary
Eversheds Sutherland
Sam Cook
Executive Director of Forest Assets,
VP Natural Resources Foundation
NC State University,
College of Natural Resources
Adam Day
Mikata Garage LLC
Matt Donegan
Donegan Advisors LLC
Dr. Thomas RaShad Easley
CEO, Founder
Mind Heart for Diversity Consulting, LLC
Karim Khalifa
Innovation Consultant
Charlotte Kaiser
Head of Impact Finance
BTG Pactual Timberland Investment Group
Stephen Levesque
Managing Director of Operations
Campbell Global
Greg Nelson
Managing Director, Advisor
Jonathan Prather
Perella Weinberg Partners
Cade Warner
President & Chief Executive Officer
The Westervelt Company

Advisory Council

Kathy Abusow 
President & CEO
Sustainable Forestry Initiative
Michael Barnes 
Professional Forester &
OSWA president emeritus
Doug Decker
Director, Executive Seminar in Natural Resources Leadership Program
Portland State University
Allyn C. Ford 
Chair & Owner
Roseburg Forest Products
Dr. Roje Gootee
Rush Creek Ranch
David Hampton
Owner & Board Member
Hampton Lumber
Jes Munk Hansen
CEO & President
Dr. Gary Hartshorn
President & CEO (retired)
World Forestry Center
Whit Hill 
Managing Director (retired)
John Hancock
Russ Hoeflich
Executive Director (retired)
1000 Friends of Oregon
Dr. Barbara Karmel
The Reed Company
Joe McKeown
Managing Director
Al Peirce Company
Dennis Neilson
DANA Group
David Nunes
President & CEO
Claudio Ortolan
Forestry Strategy Director
Dr. Ed Ray
President Emeritus
Oregon State University
Eric Schooler
President & CEO (retired)
John Shelk
Managing Director
Ochoco Lumber Company
Rick Smith
Principal, President & CEO
Forest Systems Inc.
Ed Sweeten
Sweeten Forestland Advisors, LLC
Hank Swigert
Chairman (retired)
ESCO Corporation
David Syre
Chairman & CEO
Trillium Corp.
John Warjone
President of Forestry (retired)
Port Blakely
Dr. Court Washburn
Senior Managing Director (retired)
Hancock Timber Resource Group
Thomas Wheeler
Full Circle Recycling Company
John Wilkinson
Vice President (retired)
Jeld-Wen Corp.
Richard Wollenberg
President (retired)
Longview Fibre Company
James Workman 
Zip-O-Lumber Co.

Honorary Directors

John Blackwell
Portland, OR
Bill Bradley
New York, NY
Jim Brown
Salem, OR
Dean DeChaine
Portland, OR
Dan Dutton
Portland, OR
Red Emmerson
Redding, CA
Alan Goudy
Portland, OR
Guillermo Güell
Santiago, Chile
Gilles Hotelin
Casablanca, Morocco
Tan Sri Datuk Tiong Hiew King
Sarawak, Malaysia
Jean-Claude Sève
Outriaz, France
Dieter Siempelkamp
Krefeld, Germany
Amir Sunarko
Jakarta, Indonesia